W.A. Ritchie, a well-known Seattle architect, designed the county's third courthouse, which was built with great speed and opened in February 1892. The stately three-story building of red brick had metal shingles on the roof, plus doors and windows trimmed with Tenino stone. Had it survived today, the picturesque courthouse would have been quite a tourist attraction. No, it didn't burn down. It was torn down to make room for the county's fourth courthouse.