Clark County Washington
Home Find It! A-Z Index Departments & Programs Jobs Contact Us
Board of Clark County Commissioners > Edward L. Barnes > Biography

About Edward L. Barnes


Born in Maidsville, W.V. in 1933, Edward has three adult sons and seven grandchildren. He has been married to Luanne for 59 years.

Elected office

  • Appointed District 3 County Commissioner June 3, 2014 by Board of Clark County Commissioners; sworn in June 10, 2014


  • Wharton School of Business, University of Pennsylvania
  • George Meany Center, Washington, D.C.
  • University of Oregon
  • Marylhurst College
  • IBEW continuing education
  • Clark College, apprenticeship 1956-59
  • Hough, Shumway and Vancouver High School graduate


  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local No. 48: business manager, business representative, dispatcher, president, executive board, 1959 – 1995
  • Council on Industrial Relations, international
  • IBEW International Maritime, delegate, 1991
  • Washington State Association of Electrical Workers, board member
  • Northwest Oregon Labor Council, board member, delegate
  • AFL-CIO regional organizing committee
  • Northwest Labor Press, board member
  • Washington State Building Trades Council, trustee
  • Columbia Pacific Building Trades, president

Military Service

  • U.S. Army, 25th Division, 27th Wolfhound Regiment, 3rd Battalion, Korean War, 1953-1955, honorable discharge

Community Involvement

  • Ronald McDonald House
  • West Women’s Hotel
  • Kiwanis Camp WA-RI-KI
  • Blazers Boys and Girls Club
  • Open House Ministries housing project
  • YMCA
  • Boy Scouts of America
  • 4-H
  • Partners in Construction Cooperation


Board of Clark County Commissioners
Administrator: Mark McCauley
Street Address: 1300 Franklin, 6th Floor, Vancouver, WA 98660
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 5000, Vancouver, WA 98666-5000
Main phone: (360) 397-2232 | FAX: (360) 397-6058
Responsible Elected Official: Board of Clark County Commissioners

Clark County Home | Find It! | A-Z Index | News Releases | Jobs | Contact Us

For questions or comments regarding the Clark County Web site:

© 2008 Clark County Washington | Disclaimer and legal notice | Health Information Privacy Notice