Clark County Washington
Home Find It! A-Z Index Departments & Programs Jobs Contact Us
Community Services > Community Action > Advisory Board

Advisory Board


Special Meeting: December 1, 8:00-8:30 a.m.

Meetings are held on the second Tuesday off odd-numbered months at 8 a.m. in the Center for Community Health, 1601 E. Fourth Plain Blvd., Room C210C, Vancouver.

The Community Action Advisory Board (CAAB) is comprised of nine members representing a cross section of the community. Board membership includes low-income citizens, elected public officials, and the private sector.

The Advisory Board conducts a biennial needs assessment and recommends funding for programs and services provided by community-based organizations that address essential human needs and those that move people towards self-sufficiency. Funding sources include the Community Services Block Grant, Deed Recording Fees, Emergency Solutions Grant, Consolidated Housing Grant, and Human Services Fund.

The CAAB meets on the second Tuesday of odd-numbered months at 8:00 a.m. at the Center for Community Health, Room C210C, and other times as needed.

The CAAB is a tripartite board including elected officials as described: Section 675(c)(3) is amended to require each State to certify as a part of its annual application that: (A) in the case of community action agency (CAA) or nonprofit private organization, each board will be selected by the CAA or nonprofit private organization; (B) in the case of public organization receiving funds, such organization either establish (1) a board which at least one-third of the members or persons chosen in accordance with democratic selection procedures adequate to assure that they are representatives of the poor in the area served; or (2) another mechanism specified by the State to assure low-income citizen participation in the planning, administration and evaluation of projects for which such organization has been funded.

For more information about the CAAB, or to complete an application, click here.

A map of the Commissioners' Districts is located here.


District Name Representing Term Expires
Mavis Nickels, Battle Ground School Board Elected Officials 12/31/2016
Julie Rotz, Camas School Board Elected Officials 12/31/2015
Anne McEnerny-Ogle, Vancouver City Council Elected Officials 12/31/2016
Vacant Community Representative 12/31/2015
Armando Herrera, Chair Community Representative 12/31/2016
Paula Martin, Vice Chair Community Representative 12/31/2017
Lydia Sanders, Secretary Low-income Representative 12/31/2016
Jessica Ghiglieri Low-income Representative 12/31/2015
Sheree Thun Low-income Representative 12/31/2017



Date Minutes Audio Files
January 14 Minutes Audio
March 11 Minutes Audio
May 13 Minutes Audio
July 8 Minutes Audio
September 9 Minutes Audio
November 4 Minutes Audio


Date Minutes Audio files
January 13 Minutes Audio
March 10 Minutes Audio
May 12 Minutes Audio
July 14 Minutes Audio
September 8 Minutes Audio
October 13 Minutes (Draft) Audio
November 10    



Clark County Community Services: Vanessa R. Gaston, Director
Street address: 1601 East Fourth Plain Boulevard, Bldg 17, Suite A419, Vancouver, WA 98661
Mailing address: P.O. Box 5000, Vancouver, WA 98666-9810
Main phone: (360) 397-2130 | FAX: (360) 397-6028
Community Services Fraud and Abuse Hotline
The Fraud and Abuse Hotline number is (360) 397-8030 and is for the reporting of suspected fraud or abuse related to payment for services. Messages may be left anonymously. To speak directly with the Department Compliance Officer, call (360) 397-2075 ext. 7819.
Responsible Elected Official: Board of County Councilors

Clark County Home | Find It! | A-Z Index | News Releases | Jobs | Contact Us

For questions or comments regarding the Clark County Web site:

© 2008 Clark County Washington | Disclaimer and legal notice | Health Information Privacy Notice