Used vehicles are purchased through a dealer or from a private party. If you have purchased your vehicle through a Washington dealer, the Washington dealer is required to title and license your vehicle for you. If you have purchased the vehicle from an out-of-state dealer, or through a private party, you will need to complete the title and license process yourself.
Documents and Information required when titling and licensing a used vehicle:
- A Certificate of Title
- Purchase Order or a Bill of Sale signed by the seller
- A Secure Odometer Disclosure (if the vehicle is 10 years old or less)
- An Unexpired Washington Driver License
- A notarized Title Application
If the vehicle has a Washington title, you have 15 days to transfer ownership into your name without penalty. There is a $50.00 late fee if you transfer on the 16th day. The fee increases by $2.00 every day until it reaches the maximum of $125.00.
Vehicles older than 25 years and vehicles 2009 and newer do not need to go through emissions. Please visit the Department of Ecology’s website for more information on whether your vehicle needs to go through emissions.