New rules for fireworks go into effect this year for the unincorporated areas of Clark County. For the Independence Day holiday, fireworks can be used only from 9 am to midnight Thursday, July 4. Vancouver has banned fireworks within its city limits.
Legal sale of fireworks
Fireworks may be sold in unincorporated Clark County:
- Noon to 11 p.m. June 28
- 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. June 29 through July 4
A permit is required to legally sell fireworks in Clark County, please see the following information:
- Notice of intent to apply for retail fireworks permit
- Fireworks lottery application
When and where can I use fireworks in Clark County?
Although fireworks stands may sell fireworks beginning on June 28, they cannot be used until July 4 in unincorporated Clark County.
For information regarding the use of fireworks inside all city limits, go to Fireworks Legal Discharge Times for cities in Clark County. Fireworks use without a permit at any other time is prohibited.
The sale and use of fireworks is illegal within the Vancouver city limits. Violators can be fined $500 or more. Additional information can be found on Vancouver's Web site.
Can I use fireworks at my address?
Enter an address into the search bar in the fireworks use map below to find the days and times fireworks can be used at that location. You may need to click the refresh button to see the map below.
Residents and visitors are urged to celebrate the Fourth of July with extra caution because of the dry conditions throughout Clark County.
If you plan to buy fireworks, the best option is to purchase them locally from a stand inspected by the Clark County Fire Marshal’s Office. Fireworks purchased outside the county may not be legal locally.
A few important safety reminders:
- Always have a bucket of water and water hose ready to douse any fire.
- Assign a responsible adult to supervise fireworks use.
- Use fireworks outdoors in a clear area away from buildings, vehicles and dry vegetation.
- Never aim fireworks at people or structures.
- Never attempt to alter fireworks or relight “duds” that fail to ignite.
- Place used fireworks in a bucket of water to soak overnight before disposing of them. These devices can still be smoldering and could start a fire if placed in a trash receptacle.
Determining which fireworks are legal and which ones are not can be difficult. If you are going to purchase fireworks, it is best to buy them from a local fireworks retailer whose sales location has been inspected, approved, and licensed by the Clark County Fire Marshal. It is illegal to obtain fireworks by mail order or public transporter.
Possessing or discharging the following fireworks is illegal:
- Bottle rockets
- Homemade devices
Many fireworks prohibited in Washington and Clark County - some of them extremely dangerous - are available in other states and on some tribal reservations. While there may be fireworks that are legal in Clark County being sold at these locations, there are also devices that are illegal to possess or use in Clark County. View examples of illegal fireworks.
Washington allows some fireworks that are prohibited in Oregon.
To report fireworks noise or illegal use of fireworks, call 3-1-1. Call 9-1-1 to report a fire or injury.
Using fireworks outside of the allowed dates and times will result in a civil fine. Fines start at $500 per violation.
Fines for possession and use of illegal fireworks can be steep. Possession of illegal devices is a felony and might also violate state and federal explosive statutes.