ADULT NAME CHANGE INFORMATION

To ask the court for a legal name change, the following steps are required.

The clerk has given you the documents necessary for this court appearance. You should have one
document entitled Petition for Individual Change of Name.

All documents must be filled out completely and legibly. Please read the statements carefully, as you
will be signing this document, swearing to the statements made, under penalty of perjury.

1. Begin by printing your current complete legal name on the top line above the word Petitioner. The
clerk will put in the case number for you.

2. On line 1 in the body of the petition, print your current, complete legal name as it is now. On the line
under your current name, print the full name you desire.

3. Line 2 states that you are a resident of Clark County. This means that the place you consider “home”
is in this county. This is a requirement, and you should not file in this court if you do not live in
Clark County.

4. If you are a registered sex offender, it is required by law that you submit a copy of this application to
the Sheriff and Washington State Patrol at least 5 days prior to the hearing and submit a copy of the
signed order within 5 days after the hearing. Please mark box 3 accordingly. After you have
submitted the copy of the application/certified name change to the Sheriff’s office sex offender
registration desk and Washington State Patrol, you must fill out the return of service form and file it
with the court. The return of service form may be obtained in District Court.

Next, under line 4, tell briefly why you want the court to change your name.

Line 5 and 6 are statements to which you must swear.

Finally, sign this document with your current legal signature and put the date you will file this paper.

When you file your paperwork at the District Court office, you will pay the $165 filing fee cash or

credit card*. The filing fee is non-refundable. The clerk of the court will schedule a court date and

time. You MUST be present at the hearing. At the hearing, a District Court judge will consider the
petition and make a ruling. If your petition is denied for any reason, you will not receive a refund of
your filing fee.

9. A certified copy of the name change order will be available after 3:00pm on the same day of your
hearing, at no additional cost. If you do not pick up the order by the end of the business day, it will
be mailed to you. If you know in advance that you will need additional copies of the order, notify the
clerk when you file your paperwork and pay the fee. Certified copies are $5 each (1% copy is free).
After the date of the hearing, should you need a copy of the order, you will need to make your request
at the Clark County Auditor’s office. There will be a 2-3 business day processing time before the
Auditor’s office will have name change recorded. The Auditor’s office is located on the second
floor of the Public Service Center building and you can obtain additional certified copies of the name
change order for a fee.
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Court staff can explain court procedures, practices, and terminology. They can give you information
about the status of your case and help you with procedures such as filing a case or scheduling a hearing
before a judge. They are not qualified or permitted by law to give legal advice. This means that when
there are alternative ways to proceed, they cannot advise you on which course of action to take.

*A nominal fee will be added when using a credit or debit card. DC 2203
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