FAMILY NAME CHANGE INFORMATION

To ask the court for a legal name change for an entire family, please read and follow these directions.

The clerk has given you the documents necessary for this court appearance. You should have one document
entitled Petition for Change of Name of Family.

Family name changes are designed for families consisting of a parent and their natural or legal children. It is
not designed for families with stepparents or stepchildren, since the consent of the natural parents is needed.
(In these situations, you will need a Petition for Change of Name of Minor Child.) If you are a single parent,
you will need to have the consent of the non-petitioning natural parent for change of name of a minor child.

All documents must be filled out completely and legibly. Please note that every person who is applying
for the name change must fall under the criteria outlined below.

1. Begin filling out the Petition for Change of Family Name by printing the full legal names of the entire
family on the lines at the top. The clerk will write the case number on the top right corner for you.

2. Answer questions 1 through 6 by checking the appropriate box. It is required that you be a legal resident
of Clark County. This means that the place you consider “home” is in this county.

3. If you are a reqistered sex offender, it is required by law that you submit a copy of this application to the
Sheriff and Washington State Patrol at least 5 days prior to the hearing, and submit a copy of the signed
order within 5 days after the hearing. Briefly print the reasons you desire this change. After you have
submitted the copy of the application/certified name change to the Sheriff’s office sex offender
registration desk and Washington State Patrol, you must fill out the return of service form and file it
with the court. The return of service form may be obtained in District Court.

4. Print the present full legal name, and the name desired for each family member. Tell the clerk if you
need more than five spaces.

5. Each person who is able should sign their own name.

6. Have the legal or natural parent, who is not asking for the name change , complete the Consent of
Natural Parent form. This form must be notarized.

7. Finally, the head of the family should sign as petitioner.

8. File the Petition with the District Court clerk and pay the $165 filing fee in cash or credit card*. This
filing fee is non-refundable. If your petition is denied for any reason, you will not receive a refund.

9. A certified copy of the name change order will be available after 3:00pm on the same day of your
hearing, at no additional cost. If you do not pick up the order by the end of the business day, it will be
mailed to you. If you know in advance that you will need additional copies of the order, notify the clerk
when you file your paperwork and pay the fee. Certified copies are $5 each (1* copy is free). After the
date of the hearing, should you need a copy of the order, you will need to make your request at the Clark
County Auditor’s office. There will be a 2-3 business day processing time before the Auditor’s office
will have the name change recorded. The Auditor’s office is located on the second floor of the Public
Service Center building and you can obtain additional certified copies of the name change order for a fee.

Court staff can explain court procedures, practices, and terminology. They can give you information about
the status of your case and help you with procedures such as filing a case or scheduling a hearing before a
judge. They are not qualified or permitted by law to give legal advice. This means that when there are
alternative ways to proceed, they cannot advise you on which course of action to take.

*A nominal fee will be added when using a credit or debit card. DC 2201
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