
NON-PARENTAL CUSTODY 
www.courts.wa.gov/forms
TO FILE FOR NON-PARENTAL CUSTODY YOU NEED TO COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING FORMS:
____Summons for Non-Parental Custody Proceeding WPF CU 01.0200
____Non-Parental Custody Petition WPF CU 01.0100
____Confidential Information Form WPF DRPSCU 09.0200
____Addendum to Confidential Information Form WPF DRPSCU 09.0210 (for all parties’ information)
____JIS Search Confidential Information Sheet (attached)
____Order Directing DCFS/CPS to Release Information and Order Restricting Access WPF CU 03.0500 **
____Cover Sheet for DCFS/CPS Background Check Information WPF CU 03.0520 (1 for each adult) 
____Cover Sheet for Authorization to Release Information to the Court WPF CU 03.0540 (1 for each)
____Cover Sheet for WSP Criminal History Record WPF CU 03.0550 (to finalize custody) ***
____Notice of Hearing for Adequate Cause Determination WPF CU 02.0300
ADDITIONAL FORMS THAT MAY BE COMPLETED FOR NON-PARENTAL CUSTODY:

____Motion and Declaration for Temporary Non-Parental Custody Order WPF CU 03.0100
____Declaration of [Name] WPF DRPSCU 01.0100 (detailed statement re situation, witnesses, reports)
____Response to Non-Parental Custody Petition WPF CU 01.0300 (for respondents to fill out)
____Residential Schedule WPF CU 01.0450 (to set up a specific visitation plan w/the other parties)
____Child Support Worksheets (if you want child support from the other parties)

____Motion and Declaration for Order Appointing Guardian Ad Litem WPF PS 10.0800
____Order Appointing Guardian ad Litem on Behalf of Minor WPF CU 04.0200

____Indian Child Welfare Act Notice 25 U.S.C. 1912(a) WPF CU 01.0250

____Motion & Declaration for Default WPF DRPSCU 03.0100 
____Order of Default WPF DRPSCU 03.0200

1.
Take completed forms to the court facilitator to be reviewed and to get a court date. 

2.
Make copies of all documents after you have filled them out. 

3.
File the original documents with the court (Filing fee is $260 – No Personal Checks), serve the other person(s) a copy and retain a copy for your records.
SERVE THE OTHER PERSON – Personal service must be done by a person over the age of 18 and not involved in the case.  The person doing service MUST COMPLETE:

____Return of Service Form WPF DRPSCU 01.0250 or their own form if using a process server.
The respondent has 20 days (if served in Washington) OR 60 days (if served outside Washington) to file a Response.  (If you need to serve by publication or by mail, you must ask the court for permission to do so.  The court facilitator can help you with the appropriate forms.)

If the children receive public assistance, you must also serve a copy on the Prosecuting Attorneys Office, 800 Franklin, #100, Vancouver WA 98660.  360-397-2265

EMERGENCY RESTRAINING ORDER requires the following documents:

____Motion/Declaration for Ex Parte Restraining Order & Show Cause WPF CU 03.0150 (Be VERY specific when explaining to the judge what has recently happened.  Use current dates and details.)
____Ex Parte Restraining Order/Order to Show Cause WPF CU 03.0170

____Law Enforcement Information WPF All Cases 01.0400
Ex Parte restraining orders need to be filed with the clerk’s office by 11:00am on the day you want them signed by a judge. Return that same day at 1:00pm.  After they are signed you can stamp your copies “copy, original filed with court”. 
TAKE TO THE TEMPORARY CUSTODY HEARING OR ADEQUATE CAUSE HEARING:
____Temporary Custody Order WPF CU 03.0200

____Order Re Adequate Cause (Non-Parental Custody) WPF CU 02.0400
____Residential Schedule WPF CU 01.0450 (if setting specific visits)
TAKE TO FINAL CUSTODY HEARING:
____Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law (Non-Parental Custody) WPF CU 02.0100
____Non-Parental Custody Decree WPF CU 02.0200
____Residential Schedule WPF CU 01.0450 (if setting specific visits)
____Order of Child Support WPF CU 01.0500 w/worksheets (if requesting child support)
**
This order can be presented on the ex parte docket, turn in by 11:00 and return at 1:00.

***
Prior to your final hearing you must provide a Washington State Patrol Criminal History Record on you and each adult living in your home.  You may contact WSP by telephone at (360) 534-2000 or at http://watch.wsp.wa.gov.  The report(s) should be attached to this cover sheet.
JIS SEARCH 

INFORMATION SHEET

* CONFIDENTIAL FORM *

Case Name:





Case Number:


List names, dates of birth, and social security numbers of ALL persons over the age of 16 living in the petitioner’s household:

NAME (First, Middle, Last)



D.O.B.

S.S. #

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY OF THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF WASHIINGTON THAT THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT.

Dated this __________ day of ________________________, 20____.

________________________________________

Petitioner

________________________________________

Petitioner

Non-Parental 8/21/2013

