A. Real Property becomes subject to tax foreclosure if there are unpaid taxes that are three (3) or more years delinquent. In order to prevent your property from moving forward in the foreclosure process, the taxes, penalty, and interest that are three (3) or more years past due must be paid prior to April 30th of the current year. If we do not receive the payment by this deadline, the Treasurer will file a Certificate of Delinquency with Superior Court. Once the Certificate of Delinquency has been filed, the property may only be released from foreclosure by paying all years’ taxes, interest, penalties, recording and foreclosure costs prior to the auction date (RCW 84.64). If you have any concerns that your property may be subject to foreclosure, please contact the Collections Department at 564-397-6038 to verify.
Foreclosure FAQ's for Homeowners
If you are a homeowner with delinquent taxes, the Clark County Treasurer’s Office recommends that you contact our office to explore possible options to avoid tax foreclosure. Below are a few frequently asked questions from homeowners facing tax foreclosure:
Q. When does the process of tax foreclosure begin?
Q. When will my Real Property be sold at auction?
A. Real Property auctions are typically held in the February following our filing of the Certificate of Delinquency. Once the Certificate has been filed, you will have the ability to redeem the property from the sale by paying all years’ taxes, interest, penalties, recording and foreclosure costs prior to the auction date (RCW 84.64). At that point, we will only be able to accept payment from the owner on record, or any entity that has a recorded interest in the property.
Q. Do you accept partial payments?
A. We cannot accept partial payments on delinquent taxes that are subject to foreclosure. If you have property taxes that are less than three (3) years past due, we may be able to offer payment plan options to you. In order to find out if your account qualifies for a payment plan, please contact the Treasurer’s Office at 564-397-2252.
Q. Are there any resources to help me prevent foreclosure?
A. If your property has delinquent taxes or is subject to foreclosure, you may be able to obtain assistance from the Washington Homeownership Resource Center (WHRC) at 877-894-HOME (4663). The WHRC can connect you to various homeowner resources, including legal aid and credit counseling.
Q. I am a senior citizen or have a disability; are there any options to reduce my amount owed or prevent the foreclosure?
A. If you are 61 years of age and meet specific qualifications, you may be eligible for the Property Tax Exemption for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons. Applications for the exemption are administered by the Clark County Assessor’s Office. To find out if you qualify, please visit their website at www.clark.wa.gov/assessor/property-tax-exemption-senior-citizensdisabled-persons. If you intend to file for the exemption and a Certificate of Delinquency has already been filed on your property, you must contact the Collections Department immediately to inform them of your application. Please note that qualifying for the exemption does not prevent foreclosure, but may substantially reduce the amount due.
If you are 60 years of age and meet specific requirements, you may qualify for the Property Tax Deferral program offered by the Washington State Department of Revenue. If approved, Washington State DOR will pay the outstanding taxes on your behalf. The deferred amount, plus interest, becomes a lien in favor of the state until the total amount is repaid. Applications for tax deferral are administered by the Clark County Assessor’s Office. For more information on the program, please visit their site at www.clark.wa.gov/assessor/property-tax-deferral-senior-citizensdisabled-persons.
Q. Can someone else pay delinquent taxes on my behalf?
A. Prior to our filing of a Certificate of Delinquency, we can accept payment from any entity. Once the Certificate of Delinquency has been filed, you must complete an Authorization to Pay Property Taxes form to allow an entity without a recorded interest to pay your taxes. Please note that payment of these taxes by an authorized entity does not provide them with an ownership interest in your property.