To support taxpayers experiencing financial difficulties, below is a detailed listing of payment assistance programs offered by the Treasurer’s Office and other available resources:
Payment Assistance Related to COVID-19
- Property Tax Due Date Extension to June 3
In support of the ‘Stay Home, Stay Healthy’ order, Treasurer Topper extended the 1st half 2020 tax due date to June 3, 2020.
- Real Property Payment Agreements
For those affected by the COVID-19 emergency that require additional time to make payments, payment agreements are available that will allow the waiver of the 8% December penalty (1% monthly interest will apply). Please contact email@example.com to apply.
- Due Date Extension for Business Personal Property Taxes
If your business was impacted by the COVID-19 emergency, you may qualify for an additional due date extension to July 31, 2020. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org to apply.
- Other Resources
The Washington State Coronavirus Response page includes additional resources for those affected by the COVID-19 emergency: https://coronavirus.wa.gov/business-workers
Standard Payment Assistance
- Current Year Payment Agreement
If you are unable to make your current year payments due by the deadline, payment agreements are available that can help you avoid the assessment of the penalties assessed in June and December (1% monthly interest will apply). Please contact email@example.com to apply.
- Installment Payments
The Treasurer’s Office is allowed to accept partial installment payments as remitted to the office. Partial payments will be applied to the oldest year of delinquency unless otherwise instructed (1% interest and standard June & December penalties will apply). Although partial payments can reduce the amounts due and slow the accrual of interest, delinquent property taxes are subject to the payment deadlines as stated in RCW 84.56 and 84.64.
- Interest & Penalty Waivers for Income-Qualified Individuals Facing Tax Foreclosure or Distraint
If your primary residence is subject to tax foreclosure or distraint and your income meets requirements as outlined in RCW 84.36.381(5)(a), you may be eligible for a one-time waiver of outstanding interest and penalty on delinquent taxes. Other restrictions may apply to this waiver. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org to discuss your options with a tax specialist.
- Property Tax Exemption for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons
If you are 61 years of age and meet specific qualifications, you may be eligible for a property tax exemption. To find out if you qualify, please visit the Clark County Assessor’s Office website at www.clark.wa.gov/assessor/property-tax-exemption-senior-citizensdisabled-persons.
- Property Tax Deferral Program
If you are 60 years of age and meet specific requirements, you may qualify for the Property Tax Deferral program offered by the Washington State Department of Revenue. Applications for tax deferral can be submitted to the Clark County Assessor’s Office. For more information on the program, please visit the Clark County Assessor’s Office website at www.clark.wa.gov/assessor/property-tax-deferral-senior-citizensdisabled-persons.
- Other Resources
For foreclosure prevention, housing counseling and/or legal assistance, contact the Washington Homeownership Resource Center (WHRC) at 877.594.4663.
Taxpayers with additional questions about their property tax bill or payment options can contact the Clark County Treasurer’s Office at email@example.com or 564.397.2252.