- Applying for a Marriage License
- Waiting Period
- Performing the Ceremony
- Marriages are Public Record
- Copies of Marriage Certificates
Both the potential applicants must be present in our office by 4:30PM to apply for a marriage license. No appointment is necessary.Hours to apply for a Marriage License: M, T, Th, F: 8:00-4:30
Recording/Marriage License Department
Public Service Center
1300 Franklin Street, 2nd Floor
Vancouver, WA 98666-5000
Phone: (360) 397-2208 or (360) 397-2243
Fax: (360) 397-2137
- Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age or older and must have a current photo ID as proof of your age.
- Applicants who are 17 years of age must be accompanied by one parent or legal guardian who can provide consent.
- Applicants under the age of 17 must obtain permission from the Family Court.
- Blood tests and physical exams are not required to obtain a marriage license.
- Applicants do not have to be residents of the State of Washington to obtain a marriage license. The license is only valid for weddings that are performed within the state of Washington.
- Proof of divorce from a previous spouse, or death of a spouse, is not required to obtain a marriage license. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the final decree of divorce is filed before applying for a new marriage license.
There is a three (3) day waiting period beginning the day you complete your application and make payment. Keep this in mind since the waiting period cannot be waived. You may not get married during this time. The License is valid for 60 days following the three day waiting period.
WitnessesWitnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony. Witnesses should be at
least 12 years of age.
$15 of the county's $64 marriage license fee goes to the Department of Community Services and Corrections to fund family services. These services include parenting classes, child development activities, health and educational activities, family support centers, and intervention services.
There is a $64 fee, cash only (no debit, checks or credit cards). This fee is due in our office at completion
of your application process and is non- refundable.
Performing the Ceremony
State law prescribes who can perform a marriage ceremony: active and retired Supreme Court justices, Court of Appeals judges, Superior
Court judges, Superior Court commissioners, and judges of courts of limited jurisdiction, as well as any regularly licensed or ordained minister or priest of any church or religious denomination. See RCW 26.04.050 for a complete list.
Ministers from any state may perform marriage ceremonies, but the ceremony must be performed in the State of Washington. Neither the bride nor the groom may perform the ceremony.
To have a District Court judge perform the ceremony, call the District Court (360) 397-2010 during regular business hours.
Marriages are Public Record
All marriage records are a matter of public record. The one exception to this is for those enrolled in the State's Address Confidentiality program. Once a license has been recorded, it cannot be "unrecorded."
Copies of Marriage Certificates
There are several ways to get copies of a marriage certificate. If you need a certified copy, please note that in your request.
In person: Copies are available at the Recording Department, 1300 Franklin St., second floor, Vancouver. Hours are Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Wednesdays when the office opens at 9 a.m. Payment may be by cash or check (No debit or credit cards).
By mail: Please mail your completed Request for Certified Copy Form (PDF) with payment and self addressed stamped envelope to Clark County Auditor's Office, Attn: Marriage License Department, PO Box 5000, Vancouver WA 98666-5000. Payment may be by check or money order. Please do not send cash.
Online: Copies of marriage certificates recorded may be requested online. Payment may be by debit or credit card and additional fees apply.
Please Note: Online copies of marriage certificates are currently not accepted by the Social Security Administration for name changes. Other agencies (Driver's License, insurance, etc) will accept online copies though.
To complete your order online, you will need the document recording number. The following steps will help you find the recording number:
- Go to the Search for Auditor's Documents Web page.
- Enter one of the applicant's names (last name then first name) in the field called "Either Grantor or Grantee".
- In the "Title" field, you may have to do 2 searches: First, select "MARRC-Marriage Certificate" from the drop down menu. If no records found then search under the title "MCERT"
- Click the "Search" button.
- The 7-digit document number will be listed in the left column.
- Certified copies: $3 each
- Non-certified copies: $1 each
All public documents, including marriage certificates, are available from the Recording Department.