Serving food to the public in Clark County requires a health permit issued by the Environmental Public Health Department. To obtain a Health Permit, a one-time Plan Review application and fee is first required and must be submitted to the Health Department for review and approval. After the plans are approved by a health inspector, a Health Permit will be released for purchase and must be renewed annually. Single-event temporary health permits have a single fee and application for the plan review and the permit. For more information, visit our Farmers market and temporary events frequently asked questions page.
Selling food at an event
If you will be selling, serving, preparing or sampling foods at public events by setting up a temporary concession stand or booth with portable cooking equipment and hand wash stations then you will need a health permit. Use these links for information on requirements, applying and paying for a temporary health permit in Clark County.
- Single-Event: Temporary food service at a single coordinated event for up to 21 days at a fixed location.
- Multi-Event: Temporary food service permit to serve food at a Farmer's Markets or multiple coordinated events throughout the year.
- Exempt from Permit: Information for vending certain exempt from permit foods at temporary events
Opening a permanent food establishment
Annual health permits are required to operate a food service establishment in Clark County. Before a new health permit can be issued, a plan review must be conducted to ensure compliance with the Washington State Food Code. Use these links for specific requirements, applying and paying for a plan review and permits for various types of annual food service establishments. Be aware, health permits are non-transferable and non-refundable. Use these links to get started with your new business.
- Food service establishment (all levels): New or remodeled restaurant, deli or grocery store, coffee and espresso kiosks, tasting rooms, travelers' accommodations, caterers etc.
- Mobile food service establishment: Mobile food vending trucks, carts or other non-stationary establishments that have plumbed sinks with fresh and gray water holding tanks and hot water serving any type of food.
Change in ownership
Use this link for information on taking over ownership of a currently operational and permitted food service establishment where there are no proposed changes to the menu or physical facilities.
- Change of ownership information: Submit at least 30 days prior to taking over ownership to avoid additional fees.
Renew an annual permit
Health permits are valid for one year from the date of purchase and must be renewed before they expire. Renewal applications and invoices are mailed out to current permit holders 30 days prior to their expiration date and must be completely filled out and returned with a full payment and the original invoice to be processed. Below you will find supplemental forms for mobile, seasonal and annual itinerant health permit renewals.
- Annual Itinerant Commissary and Event Schedule form:
- Mobile Unit Annual commissary and Route Plan form:
- Annual commissary agreement form only:
- Annual restroom agreement form only:
- Annual route plan form only:
- Fees and food service definitions
- Plan Review Process Summary
- Location, Hours and Contact
- Food Worker Card and PIC (Person in Charge information) testing information
- Washington State Retail Food Code
- Smoking in public places law, RCW 70.160
- Cottage food operations laws -Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA)